Enjoying Green’s gluten and wheat free beers

There are so many gluten free beers to choose from these days but this month I have been mostly sampling Green’s gluten free beer range. This is one for all you coeliacs or wheat allergics out there. They are all delicious. Last night I enjoyed the deliciously refreshing Pilsner. But my favourite, by a long […]

Eating at Gourmet Burger Kitchen with multiple allergies…

We recently put Gourmet Burger Kitchen (GBK) through a pretty stringent test of their allergen catering protocol. I wouldn’t normally ever turn up somewhere without having first phoned, exchanged emails and been through the menu to ascertain before hand what would be safe. But things happen in our busy lives and we are not always […]

Wheat or gluten free beer at the CAMRA beer festival?

I’m asking a question here because I’m not quite sure. I’m planning a visit to London with colleagues tomorrow and received this very helpful response from CAMRA about whether there would be any wheat and/or gluten free beers available. Last year there was ONE beer! And very nice it was too. I had quite a […]

FreeFrom Food Awards shortlist is out… my highlights may differ

It’s that time of year when I get on my FreeFrom-Food-Awards-Disguise and hot foot to Foods Matter Towers for some very secret food tasting. Before I get started you will be delighted to hear that the Shortlist for the FreeFrom Food Awards is now out. More nut free products please! This year I changed it […]

Allergic to Chestnut – nut allergy or latex allergy?

Should you eat chestnuts if you have a peanut or tree nut allergy? I’ve researched and written about this before and chestnuts aren’t really nuts in the true sense so could be alright for some people with nut allergies, but as we all know, it’s never that simple. I’ve eaten chestnut before, by mistake, a […]

Allergic to wheat? List of wheat free lager and real ale

I’m really doing this for myself as a reference because I have a wheat allergy and a love of real ale – not always a good combination. I plan to contact the brewers to find out if their draft beer is made with the same recipe as their bottled beer. Could you safely assume that […]

Vodka made from milk? – dairy allergy #milkallergy

This week I heard about an amazing new product being made in Dorset with whey from grass grazed cow’s milk. I can’t drink milk because I’ve got a dairy allergy so I was only half listening, but when I realised they were talking about a vodka made from 100% pure milk my ears pricked up. […]

The day after the beer festival with a wheat allergy

Well I braved the beer bellies and crowds of men and had a hoot at the Great British Beer Festival. I did indeed find ‘the only gluten free beer at the beer festival’ and enjoyed quite a lot of Stringers Plan B which is a very drinkable, light ale – perfect for a drinking session! […]

Will there be gluten free beer at the Great British Beer Festival?

If you have coeliac disease or are allergic to wheat you will no doubt know that finding suitable beer is not easy, so you might not think that the CAMRA Great British Beer Festival would be a great night out. If you’re just wanting beer you might be right since my research has only uncovered […]